RDM Equality Diversity and Inclusion Committee: Terms of Reference

Function

- 1. The Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Committee's purpose is to promote and support a culture of equality, diversity and inclusion within the Radcliffe Department of Medicine.
- 2. The Committee's objectives are to:
 - a) develop, recommend to RDM's Senior Leadership Team (SLT) and implement initiatives to foster a more inclusive and equitable environment in the Department;
 - b) identify barriers to equality, diversity, and inclusion within the Department and propose measures to address these;
 - c) provide guidance on implementing and disseminating the Medical Sciences Division's and the University's EDI policies, practices, and procedures;
 - d) monitor and assess the Department's progress towards achieving its EDI goals.
- 3. Areas of departmental activity which the Committee shall address are likely to include: staff recruitment, retention and remuneration; governance; research culture; admissions and examinations; personal and career development.
- 4. The Committee shall receive periodic reports from relevant working groups in relation to their activities in relation to EDI, and provide guidance as required.
- 5. The Committee shall serve as the Self-Assessment Team (SAT) for Athena Swan.
 - a) The Committee will regularly (annually as a minimum) review the Athena Swan Action Plan, priorities and associated data.
 - b) During Athena Swan application periods, additional working groups and staff may be seconded to the Committee to provide further expertise and resources.

No.	Membership	RDM Division	Name of member	Duration of appointment
1.	EDI Academic Lead, chair	WIMM	Anne Goriely	ex officio
2.	Head of Department	CVM	Keith Channon	ex officio
3.	Career Development Committee Chair	OCDEM	Tom Milne	ex officio
4.	Mentoring Committee Chair	CVM	James Brown	ex officio
5.	Mentoring Co-ordinator	CVM	Charlotte Rush	ex officio
6.	Teaching and Education Lead	NDCLS	Deborah Hay	ex officio
7.	EDI Facilitator, secretary	RDMS	Charlotte Smith	ex officio
8.	Medical Sciences Division EDI Facilitator	n/a	Katherine Corr	ex officio
9.	Director of Graduate Studies	WIMM	ТВС	ex officio
10.	Graduate Studies Manager	RDMS	Jill Walker	ex officio
11.	Researcher Association Chair	OCDEM	Noelia Martinez- Sanchez	ex officio
12.	DPhil Student	CVM	ТВС	2024 -

Membership

No.	Membership	RDM Division	Name of member	Duration of appointment
13.	RDM Division Business	OCDEM	Mark Evans	2024 -
	Manager			
14.	Head of Administration and	RDMS	Jane Sherwood	ex officio
	Finance			
15.	Head of Strategic Research	RDMS	Sarah Ball	ex officio
	Development			
16.	Head of Communications	RDMS	Jacqueline	ex officio
			Pumphrey	
17.	Head of HR	RDMS	Emma Engel	ex officio
18.	CVM EDI Champion	CVM	Betty Raman	ex officio
19.	IMD EDI Champion	IMD	Sumana Sharma	ex officio
20.	OCDEM EDI Champion	OCDEM	Matt Nevile	ex officio
21.	NDCLS EDI Champion	NDCLS	Stephen Minay	ex officio
22.	NDCLS EDI Champion	NDCLS	Shazia Irshad	ex officio
23.	WIMM EDI Champion	WIMM	Noelle Obers	ex officio
	Co-opted members			
24.	Emeritus Professor	n/a	Alison Banham	2024 -
25.	EDI Research Specialist	IMD	Pavel Ovseiko	2024 -
26.	PI	CVM	Naveed Akbar	2024 -

Governance

- 1. The Chair of the Committee will be the EDI Academic Lead.
- 2. The Secretary to the Committee will be the EDI Facilitator with assistance from colleagues within RDM Strategic.
- 3. The Chair may propose to the Committee the co-opting of up to five members to the Committee on the basis of their personal expertise and interest in EDI and/or their ability to increase the reflection of the diversity of the Department.
- 4. Members should attend all meetings. Should a member not be able to attend a meeting, apologies should be sent to the Chair and Secretary. In the event that the Chair is not able to attend the meeting, the Head of Department will be asked to chair instead.
- 5. Meetings will be held every 3-4 months.
- 6. Meetings will be held in-person / hybrid / fully online as deemed most effective for the Committee.
- 7. Members who are not ex officio will normally serve for an initial term of three years, with the potential of renewal for further terms of three years (normally up to nine years in total). The term length of the DPhil student representative will be set in accordance with their expected time on course.
- 8. Conflict of interest: attendees should declare any interest that could give rise to a conflict in relation to any item on the agenda at the beginning of the item in question. All interests so disclosed will be recorded in the minutes. If the Chair deems it appropriate, such attendee(s) shall absent themselves from all or part of the discussion of the relevant item.

Version control

Version	Action	Author	Approved
V1.0	TOR Created	Charlotte Smith. EDI	EDIC 16/01/24
		and Strategic Projects	
		Facilitator	
V1.1	Names Updated	Charlotte Smith. EDI	N/A
		and Strategic Projects	
		Facilitator	